Rain, Gandhi and Fireflies

Last night we had a gardener’s meeting in the garden. On the way home I walked down E. 26th Street and when I approached the last of the row houses before the apartment building appeared it grew dark. The sky was already preparing for a storm but that little stretch of sidewalk is covered by thick trees, the air always dense. I love the last house because there are always cats lying around in the back yard. Last night, no cats, but there were about 50 lightning bugs that helped light my way through the 6ft forest.

“To love is to receive a glimpse of heaven.” -Karen Sunde

Early this morning I took the 5 train to Whole Foods at Union Square. I was in the mood for some tofu scramble with curry and a garlic bagel. A woman, wearing a blue tank top, leaned against and held onto the metal pole to the right of my seat. There was a tattoo on her upper arm that said “Claudyia 3-16-00”. I thought who is Claudyia? Then I heard her say, “C‘mon Claudyia” and to her left was a beautiful little girl with a plaid halter top, jean shorts and a dozen or so mini plastic floral barrettes at the tip of the many braids sticking out from her scalp. She was bubbly and full of personality and her mother gave her a look as she handed her mother the empty juice container and said, “What? I was thirsty.”

6 Responses to “Rain, Gandhi and Fireflies”

  1. Jeanette Says:

    What a lovely slice of life, and what amazing photos! It looks like Ghandi came to visit your garden, just strolling through!

  2. eeethan Says:

    LOVE the photos.

    Your blog reminds me of the movie “Wings of Desire” like one of the angels commenting on life and taking notes.

  3. annandboni Says:

    Thanks Jeanette and eeethan/jacque,
    Seeing Ghandi in the park is always magical. Jaqcue, didn’t we see Wings of Desire together at Pratt?
    xoxox

  4. Jeanette Says:

    I remember we saw “Wings” at Pratt. I still remember the whispering of the angels, like the rustling of leaves. You’re right Jaquce – this does feel like the movie!

  5. Norine Hall Says:

    I love your photographs. The veges look so real. You are so talented.

  6. Dalia Says:

    Love the photo. Who is this Gandhi ? some one you know. Very nice vegetables I am sure that with all these veggies you are cooking more and more. You will turn into an expert cook!

    I have just ordered an new IMac and I can’t wait to get it home.

Leave a Reply

