Monday Morning Chat: Jacque W.

One day a couple of weeks ago my friend Jacque and I were driving around Brooklyn having an adventure. We ended up at the Connecticut Muffin on Cortelyou, because they have free wifi and we like it there. We have been friends for about 20 years. The picture above is of Jacque’s hands. Meet Jacque. Check out her art and her son’s blog under “blogroll”.
Where are you from and how did you end up living in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn?
South Jersey. A friend in Brooklyn Heights suggested we look out here when I was pregnant and looking to move (Brooklyn Heights was too expensive). We were going to move to New Jersey and even had a down payment on a house but I started getting stomach aches from the idea so I knew I had to stay in Brooklyn.
If you could design a perfect day what would it look like?
My perfect days always happen when I am traveling. My most perfect day was traveling to San Francisco to see my favorite band Spoon. I guess it would involve seeing music and meeting friends at the show…hey, just did that on Tuesday…Saw Spoon in Prospect Park and met up with a lot of old friends.
So great.
What inspires you?
Finding cool new art on the web. And animation also. Teaching kids. Great filmmaking and writing.
You are a really great mother. Tell me 3 of the most amazing things about your son, Ethan.
Love this one.
1) He never notices if a person is strange or different. He doesn’t judge them and likes pretty much everyone.
2) He will spend 3 hours making a stop motion movie. Hundreds of pictures!
3) He creates energy with other kids. He is funny, fun and alive. Never a dull moment with him.
Recently you held a mural making workshop. Tell me about it.
I taught a workshop for families at a church in Brooklyn. I explain murals, show examples, talk about a theme and let ’em rip! Funny how intimidated the adults are. The kids just go, no problem. The rest of the session I am pretty much handing people brushes and paint. What always happens is the kids are done after about an hour and the adults end up finishing the thing. Once they start they don’t want to stop. It’s really fun.
Who are your favorite artists, musicians and actors?
ART: Dana Shutz – modern painter, Picasso – master, Notomax – illustration, Mariscal – designer
MUSIC: Britt Daniel of Spoon, Bloc Pary, Radiohead, Future Clouds and Radar, My friend Xavier Cartriche
What is your favorite junk food?
Snowballs and Ringdings
One Response to “Monday Morning Chat: Jacque W.”

  1. pdub Says:

    that picture is perfect so Jacque! I love it. Your kid sounds really cool, too!

Leave a Reply

