My Morning, Brooklyn to Manhattan

I have a new work schedule, 10am-6pm. It used to be 8am-4pm. As much as I try to fight it it seems to be carved in stone. So, for weeks I have planned what I could do before heading in to work. I am an early riser and leave home at 7am with my husband. So, yesterday, I unhooked my PC from the cable modem, packed it into my knapsack and went off to Starbucks around the corner on Campus Road. I sat there until 9am and then took the 5 train to the city, to work.

I don’t know how people can carry around a laptop in a knapsack all day long.

This morning I put the laptop in a cool red bag that I had bought at Daffy’s a couple of years ago. The bag is padded and shaped like a large rectangular envelope. Perfect for the laptop. My other stuff I put into a matt &nat chocolate brown bag with baby blue trim that I had bought at T.J. Maxx.

I went to the local Starbucks, bought a pepermint tea, using my Starbucks card that I had registered at starbucks.com, logged into the free ATT wifi (as long as you use the card once a month and have it registered online). I sat there until 8am, left with my hot water refill and headed to the subway. I got off at Union Square, picked up a scone at Whole Foods and still carrying my Starbucks tea from Brooklyn went into the Starbucks on 17th Street and Broadway and scored a great seat against the wall, near the front.

So here I am, logged in again, still drinking my tea from 7am and I just said hello to the smiling white haired man in a yellow plaid blazer and yellow ribbed corduroy pants, the guy that peels carrots at Union Square. The guy that is in the Vanity Fair issue that has Julia Roberts on the cover wearing a wreath on her head. ( I think I remember reading that Julia wouldn’t wear it and Annie Liebowitz added it into the photo after the fact).

I will sit here awhile longer than pick up some cat food at Petco and visit the KittyKind adoption center.

I have to say Starbucks is great.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “My Morning, Brooklyn to Manhattan”

  1. Melody Says:

    Hi Ann,
    I LOVED hearing about the potato peeler man! What a great story and how inspiring what can be achieved through simple humble efforts.
    I have seen that guy a thousand times and yes, I have bought a potato peeler from him. Works pretty good!
    love
    Melody

  2. pennyb22 Says:

    You Have An Awesome Blog Keep Up The Good Work ..Cheers 🙂

  3. Jacque Says:

    lame that Julia wouldn’t wear the wreath…

  4. annandboni Says:

    thanks melody, the carrot peeler guy is so dapper.
    thanks pennyb22.
    jacque, don’t quote me on the wreath thing but I remember thinking is that legal to spot in the wreath if she didn’t want it?

Leave a Reply

