Intuition, a Lime Green Sky and a Helicopter

I woke up in the middle of the night feeling sick. I debated about going to work but at 7am I left with my husband. I planned on stopping at Whole Foods but they didn’t open until 8am. At 7:39am we reached Brooklyn Bridge, I crossed over to the 6 train to kill some time. As we approached Astor Place I battled with my thoughts, should I get out and walk or ride to 14th. Something made me jump up and exit the train at Astor Place. I thought “Hmm, there is something I must need to see.”

I passed a group of homeless people sleeping on the platform bench. Another man dressed in jeans rolled up to the knee was digging in the trash and arranging his findings all around it.

I walked up the stairs and at the top, behind the railing was a painting, the painting above. It made me so happy looking at it. I looked around and didn’t see anyone claiming it. I asked the AMNY lady if she knew who it belonged too. She said, that guy, pointing down the street. She yelled, “Mike, this lady likes your painting and wants to buy it. ” He rushed over and I was like “Uh, I really like your painting, I am not sure about buying it, I don’t have cash on me. How much are you charging?” He answered “$15”.

I continued again to explain that I really did like it. He said, “You can take it on consignment and bring me the money tomorrow, do you pass through here?” I answered, “I could, but you know let me go get some cash. ” I ran over to Chase to get some birthday money and saw him waiting for me to come back.

I asked him if he had others and he said he could paint anything I liked but he did not do portraits. He was surprised I liked it because “Woman don’t usually like helicopters. I could paint you a tank.” I said, “I like it because it makes me happy and anything that comes from your heart I will probably like as well.”

I asked if I could come back and take his picture for my blog, he agreed. He signed his name Michael E. Wallace. This reminded me of something my coworker Brey would do.

Something told me to get off at Astor Place and because I listened, for one brief minute, to my intuition, a moment of morning magic took place.

2 Responses to “Intuition, a Lime Green Sky and a Helicopter”

  1. Jeanette Says:

    That’s really beautiful Ann! I’m a big believer in following your inner voice – you never know where it will take you, and you sometimes argue with it, but it always seems to know what is best for you!

  2. annandboni Says:

    I agree Jeanette an dyes I do argue with the old inner voice. I love this painting.

Leave a Reply

