Happy Halloween and Anniversary

Today is my anniversary. Boni and I got married, thirteen years ago on Halloween. I love Halloween because this is my favorite time of year and I love Candy Corns. I always had visions of people throwing candy corns at us, rather than rice, if we had had a traditional wedding.

Last year we took a bus up to Kingston, NY to have an adventure. We checked into the hotel and set out on foot to explore the town. We love folk art chatchkies and always end up buying something. However, I told Boni I wanted to make something to remember the trip. We walked and walked for hours and came across a piece of rusty metal in the road. I loved the shape and my wonderful husband carried it in his backpack all day.

That night I decided to use it to make a sign that we could hang in our living room. Inspired by the wooden plaque hanging over the Ingalls fireplace (Little House on the Prairie) that had the initials CI + CI (Charles Ingalls + Caroline Ingalls) I painted the sign above. That rusty piece of metal now hangs in our living room.

4 Responses to “Happy Halloween and Anniversary”

  1. Melody Says:

    What a great story! Thank you for sharing and a Very Happy Anniversary to you and Boni. Many blessings!
    love
    Melody

  2. Susan Says:

    Your story of how the sign came to be really touched my heart, I’m happy two tru romantics found meaning in a piece of rusty metal. it’s a Magical sign indeed!
    Belated Happy Anniversary to you both, and many Anniversary adventures yet to come!

    luv,
    Susan

  3. annandboni Says:

    Thanks Melody and Susan- we have yet to celebrate, hopefully this week. xox Ann

  4. Jacque Says:

    now i know! hilarious! you are ma and pa!!!

Leave a Reply

